Michigan Farm News

2016 Young Farmer Agriculture Employee Award Finalists

Category: People

young farmer

(This is the third of a four part series)

The 16 finalists in Michigan Farm Bureau's (MFB) 2016 Young Farmer awards were announced. Every year the best of the state's young farmers, ages 18-35, face off in one of four contest categories geared toward measuring their agricultural involvement, leadership and achievements.

"Our Young Farmer Awards program honors young farmers across the state for their hard work, advocacy, innovation, and their general excellence in the field of agriculture," said Mark Daniels, chair of MFB's state-level Young Farmer committee. "To be named a finalist in one of the four award categories is to have the distinction of being recognized as a top leader in Michigan Farm Bureau."

2016 Young Farmer Agriculture Employee Award Finalists

  • Katelyn Horning, Washtenaw County

  • CJ Hunt, Van Buren County

  • Nick Schweitzer, Kent County

  • Scott Thomas, Sanilac County

The Agriculture Employee Award recognizes young farmers’ contributions as employees to the success and long-term profitability of the operations which employed them. Nominees are also judged on their leadership involvement in Farm Bureau, agriculture and their community.

Katelyn Horning2
Katelyn Horning - Washtenaw County - District 3

cj hunt
CJ Hunt - Van Buren County - District 1

Nick Schweitzer
Nick Schweitzer - Kent County - District 4

scott thomas 2
Scott Thomas - Sanilac County - District 6

Following interviews and judging by a panel of agriculture industry leaders, contest winners will be announced during National Agriculture Week, March 14-18.

Winners of the Achievement and Excellence awards are eligible to compete in national competition at the American Farm Bureau Federation 98th Convention and Annual Meeting in Phoenix, Ariz., Jan. 8-11, 2017.

View the Agriculture Achievement Award Finalists here.

View the Excellence in Agriculture Award Finalists here.