Young Farmer ‘sweet 16’ finalists announced | Excellence | Michigan Farm News

2016 Young Farmer Excellence in Agriculture Award Finalists

Category: People

young farmer

(This is the second of a four part series)

The 16 finalists in Michigan Farm Bureau's (MFB) 2016 Young Farmer awards were announced. Every year the best of the state's young farmers, ages 18-35, face off in one of four contest categories geared toward measuring their agricultural involvement, leadership and achievements.

"Our Young Farmer Awards program honors young farmers across the state for their hard work, advocacy, innovation, and their general excellence in the field of agriculture," said Mark Daniels, chair of MFB's state-level Young Farmer committee. "To be named a finalist in one of the four award categories is to have the distinction of being recognized as a top leader in Michigan Farm Bureau."

2016 Young Farmer Excellence in Agriculture Award Finalists

  • Seth and Lyndsay Earl, Mason County

  • Tony McCaul, Ottawa County

  • Mark Mathe, Monroe County

  • Greg and Alysa Sanford, Jackson County

The Excellence in Agriculture Award recognizes young farmers (individuals or married couples), who do not derive the majority of their income from a personally owned agricultural operation but who actively contribute to and grow through their involvement in Farm Bureau and agriculture.

Seth and lyndsay earl
Seth & Lyndsay Earl - Mason County - District 7

Mark Mathe
Mark Mathe - Monroe County - District 3
tony mcCaul 2
Tony McCaul - Ottawa County - District 4

Greg and alysa sanford
Greg & Alysa Sanford - Jackson County - District 2

Following interviews and judging by a panel of agriculture industry leaders, contest winners will be announced during National Agriculture Week, March 14-18.

Winners of the Achievement and Excellence awards are eligible to compete in national competition at the American Farm Bureau Federation 98th Convention and Annual Meeting in Phoenix, Ariz., Jan. 8-11, 2017.

View the Agriculture Achievement Award Finalists here.