Midland County farmer new to Farm Bureau board of directors | Michigan Farm News

Midland County farmer new to Farm Bureau board of directors

Category: People

by Farm News Media

Nate Clarke_MFN_2017
Midland County farmer Nate Clarke.

GRAND RAPIDS — Midland County farmer Nate Clarke is the sole newcomer to the Michigan Farm Bureau (MFB) Board of Directors, which wrapped up its 2017 annual meeting Nov. 30 in Grand Rapids. He succeeds Lenawee County’s Calby Garrison in representing the organization’s Young Farmer program on the board.

Clarke raises approximately 2,000 acres of corn, soybeans, dry beans and pickling cucumbers alongside his brother, father and grandfather. The family farm business also includes a dry bean processing facility.

His lengthy resume of Farm Bureau involvement includes four years as president of the Midland County Farm Bureau and participation in both Lansing and Washington Legislative Seminars. A recent graduate of MFB’s ProFILE leadership academy, Clarke regularly represents Midland County Farm Bureau as a voting delegate at MFB’s annual meeting, and took part in this year’s Agricultural Leadership Exchange trip to New Zealand.

Clarke and his wife Christina live near Coleman with their children Adam, Maggie and Ellie.

Incumbent members reelected to MFB’s Board were:

  • Brigette Leach — District 1 (Berrien, Cass, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph, Van Buren counties)
  • Mike Fusilier — District 3 (Livingston, Monroe, Oakland, Washtenaw, Wayne counties)
  • Stephanie Schafer — District 5 (Clinton, Eaton, Genesee, Ingham, Shiawassee counties)
  • Michael DeRuiter — District 7 (Mason, Mecosta, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola counties)
  • Ben LaCross — District 9 (Benzie, Kalkaska, Grand Traverse, Leelanau, Manistee, Missaukee, Wexford counties)
  • Dave Bahrman — District 11 (the entire Upper Peninsula)
  • Larry Walton — At-Large

Incumbents not up for election this year were:

  • Jennifer Lewis — District 2 (Branch, Calhoun, Hillsdale, Jackson and Lenawee counties)
  • Jeff Sandborn — District 4 (Allegan, Barry, Ionia, Kent, Ottawa counties)
  • Travis Fahley — District 6 (Huron, Lapeer, Macomb, St. Clair, Sanilac and Tuscola counties)
  • Michael Mulders — District 8 (Arenac, Bay, Clare, Gladwin, Gratiot, Isabella, Midland and Saginaw counties)
  • Patrick McGuire — District 10 (Alcona, Alpena, Antrim, Charlevoix, Crawford, Emmet, Iosco, Kalkaska, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle and Roscommon counties)
  • Andy Hagenow — At-Large
  • Douglas Darling — At-Large

Midland County dairy farmer Cathy McCune will continue her role representing the Promotion and Education program on the board.

Michigan Farm Bureau is the state’s largest farm organization, representing the interests of more than 42,000 farmer members.