U.P. Farm Bureau members appointed to ag commission | Michigan Farm News

U.P. Farm Bureau members appointed to agriculture commission

Category: Politics

by Michigan Farm Bureau


Menominee County Farm Bureau member Charlie Meintz and Hiawathaland Farm Bureau member Patricia Bergdahl have been selected to serve on the state’s five-member Commission of Agriculture and Rural Development.

Meintz owns his family’s fifth-generation centennial dairy and crop farm near Stephenson.

“This is the first time there have been two individuals serving from the Upper Peninsula,” Meintz said. “We often feel like we don’t always feel representation in Lansing and I think now with two members from the U.P. we’ll have a pretty substantial voice.

“I’ve had seven years serving as a Menominee County commissioner and was chair for five years,” he added. “I feel like I understand government guidance and I hope I’ll be a good individual on the commission.”

Meintz represents Republicans and succeeds Bob Kennedy on the commission.

Berghdahl is the office manager at Bergdahl’s, Inc., an outdoor power equipment sales and service business in Skandia; her family also owns a local dairy farm. She’s previously served as deputy township treasurer and is an active volunteer the Skandia Township 4-H, Gwinn Area Schools and Marquette County Fair.

“I hope to be an advocate for Michigan farmers,” Bergdahl said. “I really like to educate people about farming because there’s a lack of information and understanding out there.”

Berghdahl succeeds Diane Hanson on the commission, representing Independents.

Both Berghdahl and Meintz will serve four-year terms expiring Dec. 31, 2022. Their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.