Skip to main content
Michigan Farm Bureau Family of Companies

State Policy Development Committee

The Michigan Farm Bureau (MFB) Policy Development Committee is charged with reviewing hundreds of policy recommendations from 65 county Farm Bureaus. 

The committee's final report of proposed state and federal policy resolutions is then debated and voted on by member delegates to the MFB Annual Meeting each year.

Committee members are appointed by the MFB Board of Directors and serve a one-year term, with eligibility for a one-year reappointment. The committee is chaired by the current vice president of the MFB Board of Directors.

A man in a suit speaking into the microphone on the delegate floor of the 2022 MFB State Annual Meeting.

Michigan Farm Bureau 2023 Policy Development Committee

District 1: Loren King, St. Joseph

District 2: Jim Spink, Jackson

District 3: Jason Sahloff, Monroe

District 4: Sharon Kokx, Barry

District 5: Charles Goeke, Ingham

District 6: Jeff Hodge, Lapeer

District 7: Todd Fox, Oceana

District 8: Kevin Thiel, Gratiot

District 9: Jennifer Smeltzer, Benzie-Manistee

District 10: Bill Hileman, Clare

District 11: Greg Shooks, Antrim

District 12: Daniel Bahrman, Hiawathaland

At-Large: Peter Maxwell, Gladwin

At-Large: Kevin Messing, Huron

Promotion & Education: Julie Stephenson, St. Joseph

Young Farmer: Jason VanDrese, Hiawathaland

Young Farmer: Mitch Kline, Kalamazoo

Young Farmer: Chris Sanford, Jackson

Board of Directors: Leona Daniels 

Board of Directors: Mike DeRuiter

Board of Directors: Stephanie Schafer



Staff Contact

Emily Reinart headshot

Emily Reinart

Grassroots Policy Outreach Specialist
517-679-5337 [email protected]