Skip to main content
Michigan Farm Bureau Family of Companies

Montcalm County yields new state Young Farmer chair Lane Grieser

Montcalm County’s Lane Grieser is the new chair of Michigan Farm Bureau’s State Young Farmer Committee.
Date Posted: December 7, 2022

Assuming leadership of Michigan Farm Bureau’s state-level Young Farmer program is Montcalm County’s Lane Grieser, who farms 400 acres in northern Montcalm County alongside his parents and wife Holly.

Their hay is marketed primarily to equine operations, while the corn and oats feed their small brood cow herd, fattening the steers for freezer beef. There’s also a flock of 50 ewes that lamb in December and January for the Easter market.

Grieser’s Farm Bureau involvement began early, when his dad joined the county board when young Lane was still in high school.

“In my early 20s I became a board member myself, as Montcalm’s Young Farmer chair,” he said, followed by stints on the executive committee as third member and vice president.

He’s also had a hand in candidate evaluation work and his local Young Farmer program before moving up to the state committee.

“I was asked to sit on the state Young Farmer committee and have really enjoyed my time,” he said. “I strive to keep pushing forward, so when the chair seat was available I ran for it and here I am!”

Lane and Holly ride, breed and sell Foundation Quarter Horses and in recent years have opened their home to several foster children.

“The farm is a great place for kids to grow up, and it has made a lasting impact on their lives,” he said. “We currently have two children in our home, both of whom are involved with the daily routine of our operation.”

As chair of state-level Young Farmer committee, Grieser will represent the program on MFB’s board of directors.

Grieser succeeds first-generation crop farmer Mitch Kline, who steps down after his year leading the program. Kline raises 1,200 acres of corn, soybeans, wheat and hay near Scotts in Kalamazoo County, and runs a seed-corn business called Full Swath Harvesting.

Next February’s Young Farmer Leaders Conference will see a slate of state-committee newcomers succeeding as many leaders stepping away from the state-level Young Farmer committee.

Newcomers will include Josh Aube (Huron Shores), Chad Fusilier (Washtenaw), Natalie Holbrook (Lapeer), Leroy Sadlier (Copper Country), Samantha Schade (Mason) and Sarah Zastrow (Midland).

Outgoing members include Joe Packard (Washtenaw), Jade Edwards (Tuscola), Jeff Dreves (Northwest Michigan), Erika Schunk (Clare) and Jennifer Lytle (Mac-Luce-Schoolcraft).

Packard and his wife Katelyn have been nominated to serve on the American Farm Bureau Federation’s national-level Young Farmer & Rancher committee; their status will be made public in December. Clinton County’s Brenda Marshall will term off that same committee in March 2023.

Tonia Ritter head shot

Tonia Ritter

Education and Leadership Programs Manager
[email protected]

Bednarski reelected to 5th term as MFB President

Delegate action at Michigan Farm Bureau’s 103rd Annual Meeting brought few changes to the leadership lineup atop the state’s largest agricultural…

Osceola’s Jess Erler steps up to lead state Promotion & Education program

As the new chair of Michigan Farm Bureau’s Promotion & Education Program, Osceola County cattleman and horse trainer Jess Erler now represents that…