Skip to main content
Michigan Farm Bureau Family of Companies

2024 Jackson Co. FB scholarships recipients announced

Date Posted: May 1, 2024

Jackson County Farm Bureau is now in its twenty-fourth year of offering scholarship awards to outstanding high school seniors, college, or trade school students accepted by or attending a post-secondary educational institution at $500 per recipient.

Please join us in congratulating Eli Lightner, Ella Woolworth, and Maddux Locke as the 2024 Jackson County Farm Bureau Scholarship recipients!

Eli is a senior at Springport High School and has participated in the Springport FFA chapter serving as President the last two years. He plans to attend Michigan State University and Kellogg Community College to become an independent agronomist through the Agriculture Operations program before pursuing a bachelor’s degree in Crop & Soil Science. His long-term goal is to start his own agronomy services such as soil sampling, tissue sampling, and fertilizer recommendations.

Ella is a senior at Concord High School and has participated in the Concord Contenders 4-H Club. She plans to attend Calvin University in the Pre-Veterinarian Medicine program to complete her undergraduate degree and then her doctorate degree to become a Veterinarian. After college Ella plans to pursue a career at a large animal practice which has been a long-term passion of hers. 

Maddux is a senior at Springport High School and has participated in the Springport FFA chapter and Westside Hi-Steppers 4-H club. She plans to attend Lawrence Technological University to become a nurse anesthetist. At the same time, Ella plans to restore her family’s farm, with the help of her siblings, increasing the herd sizes and ensure that every tillable acre of the 500-acre farm is planted and harvested each season; a childhood experience she hopes to rebuild to pass on to her own children someday.

The county farm bureau would also like to thank the scholarship committee for their time and efforts in selecting students for the scholarship: Becky Heim, Denise Owens, Lorene Adams, Tonya Sears, and Matt Reinker.

Scholarship recipients will receive their first year of membership paid by the county farm bureau and are invited to the County Annual Meeting on August 17th to recognize them before other members of the organization. 

For over 20 years now, Jackson Co. Farm Bureau has proudly awarded over $17,000 in scholarships to very deserving students going into agriculture related careers.

Please visit our website at for updates for the 2025 scholarship opportunity!