Skip to main content
Michigan Farm Bureau Family of Companies

Big Three award deadlines approaching

There wasn’t a dry eye in the house when the family of 2021 DSA recipient Tom Casperson accepted the award posthumously on his behalf.
Date Posted: April 9, 2024

Y’all aren’t even in the fields yet and here we are talking about state-level awards whose recipients won’t grip their award plaques until December. 

Think of this as ample advanced notice, giving you and your county Farm Bureau leaders plenty of time to craft a top-flight nomination or, in the case of Champions, put the finishing touches on what it takes to qualify. Behold:

Champions of Excellence

The Champions of Excellence Awards acknowledge county Farm Bureaus’ innovative efforts in advocating for agriculture and engaging a variety of members. 

Applications are available for the 2024 Champions of Excellence Awards and are due July 1. Each county Farm Bureau may submit two different project applications. 

Couple hot tips here:

  • If the project you’re submitting is rooted in Promotion & Education, be sure to check the box to exhibit in the P&E Showcase at MFB’s 2024 Annual Meeting.
  • If you're thinking of showcasing your project at the AFBF's 2025 Annual Meeting, check that box and MFB will assist with your application.

One winner in each district will be announced by Aug. 16 and will receive a $350 county grant. District winners advance to compete at the state level. State winners — one each from the Excellence and Involvement categories — will be announced at the 2025 Council of Presidents Conference and receive a $1,000 county grant each. 

Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award

Since 1956, the Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award has stood as MFB's highest honor, granted to those who have made exceptional contributions to the state's agriculture industry. The roster of past recipients documents a rarified strata of individuals whose exceptional careers were devoted to uplifting the industry itself.

Nominations must be received no later than July 1.

Presidential Volunteer of the Year

MFB President Carl Bednarski understands the invaluable role volunteers play in Farm Bureau’s success, and invites you to nominate a deserving member for the Presidential Volunteer of the Year Award — someone who exhibits exceptional commitment to a local program or event, and who were instrumental to its success. 

Nominees should be regular members who have served throughout the entire membership year (Aug. 1, 2023 through July 31, 2024), leading one or more county Farm Bureau projects and recruiting others to help complete them.

Nominations are due by Aug. 2.

Portrait of MFB Member Communications Specialist Jeremy Nagel.

Jeremy Nagel

Member Communications Specialist
517-323-6885 [email protected]